Super 7 Kicks off at Jordan-Hare Stadium Wednesday

Five Defending Champions Survive Semifinals to Advance to AHSAA Super 7 Championships

MONTGOMERY – Five defending state champions pulled out wins the 54th AHSAA State Football Playoff semifinals November 29 to advance to the Super 7 State Championships at Auburn University’s Jordan-Hare Stadium Dec. 4-5-6. 

    The Class 7A championship match pairings were set a week earlier with defending state champion Central-Phenix City (12-1) and 2018 runner-up Thompson (11-1) advancing to Wednesday night’s finals. The 7A game kicks off at 7 p.m.

   Class 1A defending champion Mars Hill ,Bible (14-0) beat Pickens County 22-18 to set up Thursday’s 1A finals at Jordan-Hare with unbeaten Lanett (13-0), the 2017 Class 2A state champ. The Panthers downed Sweet Water 42-35 in the 1A semifinals.

   Defending Class 2A state champion Fyffe (14-0) blanked Collinsville 21-0 and will play Reeltown (13-1) in the 2A finals on Friday. The Rebels beat Leroy 29-28 in overtime.

   Class 5A defending champion Central of Clay County (12-2) knocked off Region 5 rival Mortimer Jordan 27-0 and will face Pleasant Grove (13-1), a 16-14 winner over Briarwood, Thursday night.

   Defending Class 4A state champion UMS-Wright (13-0) came from behind to nip Andalusia 21-14 in the semis, will take on Jacksonville (12-2), a 34-13 winner over Anniston. The Golden Eagles are one of three teams from Calhoun County advancing to the Super 7 Championships this year. Oxford (13-1) edged defending 6A champ Pinson Valley 31-28 in the semifinals and Piedmont (13-1), the 3A runner-up last season, beat Calhoun County rival Walter Wellborn 41-7 in the semifinals.

   Baldwin County faces Vestavia Hills in the Special Olympics Alabama Unified Game on Wednesday, Dec. 4 at 3:30 p.m. Baldwin County won the game last year 26-18 but Vestavia Hills beat the Bandits in the qualifying competition 27-26 in overtime in early November.

   The AHSAA TV / NFHS Network (WOTM) plans to live-stream all seven state championship games over the NFHS Network and broadcast the games live over the WOTM Cable Network of stations. The Central-Phenix City NFHS Network School Broadcast Program, under the direction of producer Tim Loreman, will also live-stream the Special Olympics Alabama Unified flag football game at Jordan-Hare Stadium on Wednesday.  

      For more information on the TV coverage, go to the following link:

2019 AHSAA State Football Playoffs Semifinal Results


Lanett (13-0) 42, Sweet Water (11-2) 35

Mars Hill Bible (14-0) 22, Pickens County (11-3) 18


Reeltown (13-1) 29, Leroy (11-3) 28 (OT)

Fyffe (14-0) 21, Collinsville (12-2) 0


Mobile Christian (9-4) 41, T.R. Miller (9-5) 21

Piedmont (13-1) 41, Walter Wellborn (12-2) 7


UMS-Wright (13-0) 21, Andalusia (10-4) 14

Jacksonville (12-2) 34, Anniston (9-5) 13


Pleasant Grove (13-1) 16, Briarwood Christian (12-2) 14

Central-Clay County (12-2) 27, Mortimer Jordan (11-3) 0


Spanish Fort (9-4) 27, Opelika (11-2) 24

Oxford (13-1) 31, Pinson Valley (10-3) 28

AHSAA Super 7 Championships At Jordan-Hare Stadium, Auburn

(Home team listed second)

Wednesday, Dec. 4

Special Olympics Alabama Unified Game

Baldwin County vs. Vestavia Hills, 3:30 p.m.


Thompson (11-1) vs. Central-Phenix City (12-1), 7 p.m.

Thursday, Dec. 5


Mobile Christian (9-4) vs. Piedmont (13-1), 11 a.m.


Mars Hill Bible (14-0) vs. Lanett (13-0), 3 p.m.


Central Clay County (12-2) vs. Pleasant Grove (13-1), 7 p.m.

Friday, Dec. 6


Jacksonville (12-2) vs. UMS-Wright (13-0), 11 a.m.


Fyffe (14-0) vs. Reeltown (13-1), 3 p.m.


Oxford (13-1) vs. Spanish Fort (9-4), 7 p.m.

Super 7 Coaches Gather at Coaches Playoff Meeting Saturday at AHSAA Office

Super 7 Coaches Gather at Coaches Playoff Meeting Saturday at AHSAA Office

Front row, from left: Steve Smith, Piedmont (3A); Paul Benefield, Fyffe (2A); Darrell Higgins, Mars Hill Bible (1A);

AHSAA Associate Executive Director Alvin Briggs; AHSAA Executive Director Steve Savarese; Christopher Story, Lanett (1A); Matt

Johnson, Reeltown (2A); Ronnie Cottrell, Mobile Christian (3A). Back row, from left: Mark Freeman, Thompson (7A); Clint Smith,

Jacksonville (4A); Terry Curtis, UMS-Wright (4A); Darrell LeBeaux, Pleasant Grove (5A); Danny Horn, Central, Clay County (5A);

Keith Etheredge, Oxford (6A); Ben Blackmon, Spanish Fort (6A); Jamey DuBose, Central-Phenix City (7A). (AHSAA Photo)

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content